It's very similar to how a gym membership, or really any other subscription (like Netflix), works. The two biggest differences are:
As you are joining (or creating) a team, you will choose whether to be a subscriber or join as a "pay to play" member. When you check out as a subscriber, you pay for your first "round". All players pay their own way, so you never have to deal with pulling money together for a team fee. If you're joining a team that's currently playing, you'll pay a pro-rated amount depending on how many matches are left in the current round.
Each team is then required to have a minimum number of subscribers in order to be scheduled (the number depends on the league). Once your team has this number, your team will become "active". When the schedule is then released for the new round, your team will be placed in 4 matches, and all players on the team will be able to see these upcoming matches from the app.
A few weeks later, we'll let you know that a new round is coming, and remind all players to update their subscription status. You can unsubscribe anytime with no fees. Teams that don't have enough subscribers will be notified.
If you're team is good on players, then you'll automatically be charged, and your team scheduled once again. You can then keep going for as long as you like, without ever having to worry about re-registering your team!
You get your money back. You will automatically get "credits" back to your account, so that you can keep trying. Alternatively, you can get a full refund if you no longer want to try playing.
We created this flexible plan to allow players to pay for just one match at a time. If you're looking for ultimate convenience, it's a great option, but there are a couple important things to keep in mind: